Habits of Happy People

I consider myself to be a pretty happy person, but until I came across an Apartment Therapy post on 5 unexpected things happy people have in their homes it hadn’t occurred to me to think about what exactly it is in my life that makes me happy or what I could do to make myself happier.  So, being a good researcher, I Googled it, and here’s what I found.  (Sources below.)

Happy people…

Cultivate relationships (especially in-person)

Recognize and appreciate when things go well (even the little things)

Spend some of their time giving back or volunteering

Step away from the screen and unplug from time to time

Invest time in a spiritual practice

Surround themselves with happy people

Move their bodies

Pursue experiences instead of things

For more, check out:

The Huffington Post’s list of “Habits of Supremely Happy People”

Time Magazine’s “6 Secrets You Can Learn From the Happiest People On Earth”

And, to get your days off to a good start: “10 Morning Habits of Happy People”

What makes you happy?

One thought on “Habits of Happy People”

  1. What makes me happy? Being able to kick back and relax and go to a lake and just enjoy the beauty of nature and being around people that aim to make a positive difference in people’s life. Everyone needs a little “me” time and separate themselves from the rushing and hassling to get things done. I always find it peaceful when at church as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

